Official SFN bloggers

In case you missed it, SFN released their usual bizarre list of official bloggers who will be doing the yeoman’s work of reporting to you on all the excitement that occurs at the conference1. As per usual, several of the bloggers – including the first one on the list! – have only posted maybe twice in their life (this is not a new problem). Who is on this selection committee? How exactly are they deciding who to include?! It’s a shame and a waste of potential community building, one that risks a perception of the blogging community as not worth bothering with.

But maybe they are just choosing exciting new bloggers with a bright future! What has happened with similar young fellows from previous years? I had a hard time finding the previous lists – feel free to add them in the comments – but Neurodojo mentioned a few from 2011. Well, one of the blogs flat-out doesn’t exist anymore, and the other two never posted again. Good job, guys2!

Luckily, most of the bloggers they chose are quite good. Here is the list, with twitter handles:

Footnotes:

1. This is not sour grapes or anything, I didn’t think to apply

2. In all fairness, the neuroflocks idea is a good one and I wish it had kept up. Perhaps we could curate something like that again?

5 thoughts on “Official SFN bloggers

  1. I hope you aren’t suggesting that those of us relatively new to blogging aren’t worthy of the yeoman’s work because of a low post count. Everyone needs to start somewhere.

    • Everyone does need to start somewhere! But blogging – especially steady blogging – is hard work and requires a commitment that it can be hard to keep. One of the problems with the neuroscience blogosphere is that there isn’t one. There is no (or very little) community. People start blogs then fade away…

      I’m sure you’re a fantastic writer and have the potential to be a great blogger. Keep it up! We need more people like that! But being a blogger takes more than a few posts and good writing style, something the SfN committee doesn’t understand. From what I can tell, the blogs they have chosen in the past with a sparse history have not continued – but please, please be the exception to that rule.

      • I’ll do my best 🙂 I’ve noticed that it definitely is difficult, especially with a dissertation deadline looming, but I’m working out a schedule for myself. Any advice from more experienced bloggers is appreciated! Hope to see you around–grab me if ya see me!

  2. I remember being impressed by SfN’s twitter activity last year (when I had twitter), so it is a bit of a let down that they don’t have blog coverage to match. I don’t remember how I came across your blog originally, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it was due to the neuroscience twitter community.

    I have to say, I’ve only come across one blog (Neurorexia) on this year’s list before, but I guess it is pretty good advertisement for the blogs since I will end up following some of them for updates. However, I hope you write some coverage, too!

    • I will of course be writing up coverage! Slanted in the direction of my interests, of course.

      I didn’t actually have twitter last year, nor did I really blog, so I’m curious what it’s like. I’ve heard of *most* of the listed blogs and think things should be pretty good. I think Shelly Fan at Neurorexia is hoping to link to ‘indiebloggers’ as well.

Leave a Reply

