Unrelated to all that, 11/22 edition

On the blog

I’ve been trying to find links to neuroscience, and economics/biology/ecology, resources for people who want to hear something serious. Neuro.tv and the Stanford NeuroTalk podcast are both good, and I recently found this set of excellent talks from the NIH.

I discussed how ‘wise’ crowds are, and when that wisdom might fail. It is actually not straight-forward when you should listen to what other people have to say, despite what some in the Economics field thinks.

Whether or not neuroscience is ready for open, ultra-collaborative work is a big question. There are a couple of projects that would probably qualify for that title right now – those being Open Source Brain and OpenWorm – but the more I think about it the more I find that there is no good consensus of what are the big ‘open questions’ in neuroscience. I am beginning to wonder if a resource for collaboration over the internet might be a valuable product…

I also found a couple of cool links on how adaptable people are (and how difficult it is  to separate phenotype from genotype!) and how surprisingly fluorescent arthropods are.

Elsewhere

Because it is known. Prophecy Sciences wants to use neuroscience to improve hiring/sports.

Dear traveller: please don’t think ill of us. We are the last generation. And we are immortal.

Probably a bad idea. Let’s not give this kid a billion dollars.

Let’s do all of it. Doing the things that you’re not supposed to do with Google glass. Can I say that I for one don’t understand the glass hate?

If you stay there too long, you won’t be the same. Are the Andes the most rapidly evolving place on the planet?

I can guess which numbers are even with 95% confidence. Why brains are not computers (ed: except maybe they are, they’re just doing different inference).

Because you want people to understand your stuff. On why engineers and scientists should be worried about color. Very worried.

In the journals

The intrinsic dimensionality of plant traits and its relevance to community ecology. DOI: 10.1111/1365-2745.12187

Toward a neural basis for social behavior. DOI: 10.1016/j.neuron.2013.10.038

Symmetry in hot-to-cold and cold-to-hot valuation gaps. DOI: 10.1177/0956797613502362

Spatial memory and animal movement. DOI: 10.1111/ele.12165

Other

Your weekly image (the newly discovered ‘plant hopper’):

Your weekly tweet:

(Ignore this: 3YG65VYNY7MK )

One thought on “Unrelated to all that, 11/22 edition

  1. Thanks for that colourmap link. I feel like good visualization and figure design is a skill that is not taught often enough. I know that I’ve never been taught anything about this, but this might stem from most of my training coming from a lemma-theorem-proof field. I was always impressed by the way experimental physicists approach figures, as my father taught me: “put the figures first then their captions and then write the rest of the paper”. I seldom see figures that are as carefully designed in the bio/psych literature, but maybe I don’t read the right kind (or enough) of experimental work.

Leave a Reply

