Cosyne, Day 1

To sum up day 1: I forgot my phone charger and all my toiletries and managed to lose my notebook by the end of the first lecture…! But I brought my ski gear, so there’s that. Mental priorities. For other days (as they appear): 23, 4

Motor controlTom Jessel gave the opening talk on motor control. The motor cortex must send a command, or motor program, down the spinal cord but this causes a latency problem. It takes too much time to go down the spinal cord and back to have an appropriate error signal sent back (in case something goes wrong.) To solve the problem, the motor system keeps a local internal copy (PN, left). A simple model from engineering says that if you disrupt this gating, you can no longer control the gain of the movement and will get oscillations. So when Jessel interferes with PN activity, a mouse that would normally reach directly for a pellet instead moves it’s paw up and down in a slow forward circle – oscillating! I think that he also implicated a signal that directly modifies presynaptic release through GABA in this behavior.

(Apologies if this is wrong, as I said, I lost my notebook and am relying on memory for this one.)

References

Azim E, Jiang J, Alstermark B, & Jessell TM (2014). Skilled reaching relies on a V2a propriospinal internal copy circuit. Nature PMID: 24487617

Leave a Reply

