Where to find great, free neuroscience pictures

striatum etc labeling

Image from the Mouse Connectome Gallery

When I write a post or an article, I often want to include a nice-looking picture or illustration. But it can be hard to find the right images of the brain (or animal) that is freely available: open-sourced or Creative Commons licensed.

Here is a list of suggestions I received for images to use:

Search the Creative Commons database

Jason Snyder’s flickr collection

The Cell Image Library

Mouse Connectome database

Cell Centered Database (usually offline)

In addition, I’ve started a tumblr of open-sourced pictures so I have a single place to find everything that I use. So start following the Neuroecology tumblr!

Leave a Reply

