CSHL Vision Course

cshlfirstday

I have just returned from two weeks in Cold Spring Harbor at the Computational Neuroscience: Vision course. I was not entirely sure what to expect. Maybe two weeks of your standard lectures? No – this was two weeks of intense scientific discussion punctuated with the occasional nerf fight (sometimes during lectures, sometimes not), beach bonfire, or table tennis match.

It is not just the material that was great but the people. Every day brought in a fresh rotation of scientists ready to spend a couple of days discussing their work – and the work of the field – and to just hang out. I learned as much or more at the dinner table as I did in the seminar room. But it wasn’t just the senior scientists that were exhilarating but the other students. It is a bit intimidating seeing how much talent exists in the field… And how great they are as people.

I also found that the graduate students at CSHL have the benefit of attending these courses (for free). It was great to meet people from all of the labs and hear about the cool stuff going on. Of course, they live pretty well, too. Here is the back patio of my friend’s house:

cshlpdhouse

I think I could get used to that?

Anyway, this is all a long-winded way of saying: if you get the chance, attend one of these courses! And being there motivated me to start making more of an effort to update the blog again. I swear, I swear…

cshllastday

Leave a Reply

