How do you keep track of all your projects?

One of the central tasks that we must perform as scientists – especially as we progress in our careers – is project management. To that end, I’ll admit that I find myself a bit overwhelmed with my projects lately. I have many different things I’m working on with many different people, and every week I seem to lose track of one or another. So I’m looking for a better method! It seems to me that the optimal method to keep track of projects would have the following characteristics:

  1. Ping me every week about any project that I have not touched
  2. Re-assess each project every week, both in terms of what I need to do and the priority for the project as a whole
  3. Split the projects into subtypes: data gathering, analysis, tool building, writing (etc).
  4. Be clear in my weekly/monthly/longer-term goals. Review these every week
  5. Some kind of social pressure to keep you on-task

Right now I use a combination of Wunderlist, Evernote, Google Calendar and Brain Focus (keep track of how much time I spend on each task with a timer)… but when I get busy with one particular project I will become monofocused and tune out the rest. Optimally, there would be some way to ping myself that I really do need to work on other things, at least a little. And it is too easy to adapt to whatever pinging mechanism the App Of The Moment is using and start ignoring it. Is it possible to get an annoying assistant/social mechanism that keeps you on task with a random strategy to prevent adaptation? IFTTT?

I asked about this on Twitter and everyone has a strong opinion on the right way to do this, and every opinion is different. They tend to split into:

  1. Have people bother you constantly
  2. Slack (only works with buy in from others)
  3. Trello and Workflowy
  4. Something called GTD
  5. Put sticky notes everywhere
  6. Github
  7. Spreadsheets with extensive notes

I’m super curious if there is a better strategy for project management. Perhaps I am not using slack correctly? Suggestions?

One thought on “How do you keep track of all your projects?

Leave a Reply

